Home > .CodeSlayer's Posts > Verizon Not Allowing Customers Who Are Behind In Payments To Downgrade Plans

Verizon Not Allowing Customers Who Are Behind In Payments To Downgrade Plans

Verizon Determined To Keep Customers From Paying Their Bills And Deep In Debt:

Customers Behind In Payments Unable To Downgrade Plans

So … It looks like Verizon is determined to keep me in debt.  Let’s get one thing out of the way first — It’s definitely, absolutely, 100% my fault that I got behind on my phone bill.  Currently, I’m behind almost $350 due to a recent move for a better job.  The upfront ‘”startup” costs of relocating to my new apartment was about $1000 more than I anticipated.

My monthly mobile phone payment is around $130 (taxes included) and because I had to pay for the apartment deposit (~$1000) and I had to get my car payments caught up (~$1000) last week, I’m currently broke (well, I have about $100, which I need for gas & food for next week) and I’m behind about 1.5 payments, meaning I currently owe Verizon $370, roughly. I just paid $50 online so that as Mom says “At least you paid something, and you show that you’re making an effort”.

The challenge is that when I tried to change my plan online to something lower, (since they have me shut off and therefore my phone is not doing me any good at the moment), the website gave me this response:

We apologize for this inconvenience. You must first pay your past due amount before proceeding with your calling plan change. To process your request today, please make your payment online, then contact Customer Service at (800) 922-0204 for assistance with your order. Otherwise, you will be able to process your calling plan change request online after 24 hours of receipt of your payment.

So, let me translate what Verizon seems to be saying to me:

You are behind on your phone payments almost $400 and though we won’t let you use your phone (we’ve disabled it remotely), WE ARE STILL GOING TO CONTINUE TO CHARGE YOU FOR THE SERVICE. Also, we are going to keep charging you your high-cost plan rate instead of letting you downgrade to reduce your plan cost,  though you are, of course, still UNABLE TO USE YOUR PHONE.

Really Verizon? You could at least give me a phone that works well — The Droid Razr I’ve had for less than a month keeps shutting itself off, restarting, and not letting me type anything for the last week. I also am not enthused that the Razr doesn’t allow me to remove the battery.

Have you had similar experiences with Verizon? Tell us your story in the comments below.

Regards,
-CodeSlayer2010

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

